Saturday, 21 March 2026

Rebels in Ghost in the Shell Compared to Code Geass

 

I am currently close to completing GitS SAC 2nd Gig. In that show a major antagonist is a sort of "charismatic" revolutionary who wants to liberate refugees. A first I thought they were simply opposed to their government accommodating any refugees at all and want them all forcefully expelled, but later it turned out they wanted to "liberate" refugees by destroying things that support them and starving them all, I guess. 

Somehow GitS fails when it comes to writing compelling rebels. Both rebel plans and actions seem contradictory to me. Rebels in GitS fully ideological and emotional while at the same time completely illogical and irrational: all wiling to die for a cause, even killing themselves on camera to make a statement. 

The only place that resembles it IRL is Palestine, there too rebels fight for a cause that is completely against their best interests. Hamas cannot provide them with anything other than misery and death, yet they still support it, human stupidity is infinite, I guess.

Also in Palestine, just like in GitS, government insiders are the real puppet masters behind the regime. Hamas is a puppet of Iranian regime, who, along with Russia and China are puppets of American neo-Puritans who fight American neo-Chevaliers who support Israel instead. To quote Blood Omen, Legacy of Kain: "With so many puppets, can you find the true player?" 


In fact, the entire world is a but a battleground of a fight between the abovementioned American fractions. 

Neo-Puritans originate from American New England; they hate America and want to re-create puritan like living conditions of early Massachusetts Bay Colony. They created Ayatollah's regime in Iran, they took over early Soviet government from within and turned it into puritan dictatorship under Stalin, purging all diverging Bolsheviks like Bukharin and Trotsky. They also control China, Cuba and most other communist states. Since puritanism is unappealing, they became apt at disguising their ideology and true objectives as something more palatable to fool people into supporting it. They are being Woke movement as well as modern Bookchin Socialism that combines disadvantages of Socialism and Capitalism in one godawful ugly ideology. I once wrote a separate article about them, and some more.

Neo-Chevaliers originate from early American southern colonies and descend from second sons of British nobility. They control the US military and oppose Neo-Puritans for reasons of Neo-Puritans being complete nutcases. Being rather brash, selfish and unlikable, they create themselves more enemies than they need to. Something sly Neo-Puritans use to create themselves unwitting allies, who do not fully understand just who they are siding with?

World is caught in a secret struggle between these two, like in a fight between assassins and templars in late Assassin's Creed games, with only European Union could possibly hold them both at certain distance from itself.


Back to the original topic: why Black Knights and Zero are compelling rebels that make sense and Kuzo and his refugees are not.

To begin with Code Geass. HBE functions as a sort of 3 class society. On top of the pecking order are native Britannians, followed by Honoured Britannian and the then the Numbers. Britannians are the privileged class for whom state cares. Honoured Britannians are these to serve the native Britannians and are clearly treated as second class citizens by the latter, like during that incident with hod dog vendor or with camera students in ghetto. Finally, Numbers are seen as completely worthless and undeserving. That is the official policy of the empire, not a sort of private discrimination. Unless you are born native Britannian, your life is a complete shit.

One can see an example of that in Japan itself, Zero points to that in conversation with Oghi and his crew on a train, but more scenes here and there show the same picture. After HBE conquered it, they build there 22 century futuristic cities, but these cities were for native Britannians who came from the mainland only. Locals were left behind in crumbling and dilapidated remnants of what was built under native Japanese government, as HBE does not want to spend a single penny on the Numbers. Nunnally once tried to do that as Viceroy, but the rest of the government was against it. Vae Victus - Woe to the vanquished.

If that sounds somewhat far-fetched and removed from reality, then here is video of a Korean guy who explains how that functions in very real contemporary North Korea. The difference is that they are doing it to their own people and no to the conquered foreigners. I can pretty much say it's the same in modern Russia, as someone who was purged from Russian upper class after Putin took over from Yeltsin, I know what I am talking about. The only difference is that in Russia the classes are disguised better so lower classes do not envy the upper class. One cannot envy them if one does not know what they really have. The privileged elites have everything, while common Russians are told country is poor because Americans steal all the money. As much as Western developed countries like to present themselves as different, it increasingly becomes the same here as well. Hell even on Titanic there were the same three classes. Indians like to spice it up more with 4 castes plus an outcast, a 5 in total.


Thus, rebels who fight against HBE rule fight not because they believe in some lofty cause or ideal and willing to die for it, or even because they are war-like people. They just do not like being in the underclass and want to change the system, that keeps them down or change their class. Tamaki even honestly put it that he wants to be a government official: essentially someone with a good status, fat paycheck, job perks and cozy not too hard work. It's the fact that the system will not give such an upper-class work for someone from a lower class like Tamaki is the reason for him to fight against the system. Others do not say it, but they likely have similar enough aspirations. Of all Black Knights, only Kallen was there purely for ideological identity reason and could easily have an upper class Britannian lifestyle if she so wished.

One can say that Lelouch could just go back to being prince, but that is not that simple. Lelouch was effectively purged from royal family due to court intrigue. Sure, he might say something that might have looked like it was his choice, but it was more of a shutting the door loudly when you were told to get out. There was no guarantee that Charles would not have sent him in exile if he said something else instead. Without his mother there was no one to protect him from other royals who see him as potentially dangerous rival and would rather eliminate him. Emperor's unwillingness to do anything about her death only further indicated that Lelouch was effectively marked for death, just like the court was whispered while he was walking towards the emperor. 

I wrote a few articles back then, analysing Lelouch so I will not go further here. Suffice to say here is that Lelouch does it not out of idealism or sympathy for Japanese but out of personal grunge and revenge for how he was treated by Charles and the royals.

One can say that Suzaku is prospering within the system despite his Japanese background, but his situation is more of luck than clearly defined path, open for everyone and he has to put up with a lot of discrimination and hate, as people around him do not see him as equal.


None of these things are present in GitS. Refugees there are all enamoured with Kuze and many are inclined towards crime and gang live. They are not fighting to make their lives better, but to saw chaos and destruction driven purely by their emotions.

Because of that, unlike Black Knights in Code Geass. one can hardly support Kuze or his cause. At least I would not support Kuze even though I support Lelouch and Black Knights.

Asobi ni Iku yo! Review

Overall Rating 7.2 out of 10 - Solid anime that, does not fail like many others and gets things done

I recommend watching


Among the large number of disappointing shows that I am dealing with recently, it's good that at least one show gets things right. Cat Cuties is not the most original show out there, it does things mostly by the book, but it gets them done right. Thus, it is enjoyable to watch. Asobi ni Iku yo! proves that if you just put all the working ingredients together and stir them a little bit, it will make for a decent show.

To begin with, girls with cat or rabbit ears were always go to solution to make women more appealing to male audience. Here we have cat girls in tight body suits that wonderfully highlight their body curves. They have cute bells on their neck bands too and generally rather moe.

One guy and three main heroines: the usual selection of Tsundere, Dandere and Deredere. I do not like tsunderes but the other two make up for that, its two good girls and only one not. Futaba and Eris against only Manami. 

Then there are fights, they are somewhat too chaotic so it's sometimes hard to follow what is going on. It's not tactical like in Code Geass or Naruto, but still enjoyable to watch.

Finally, the setting is a win, the summer resort-like vibe of Okinawa is certainly a place where I want my shows to be set.

And there is also space technology, customisable assistroids and more.

A few minor flaws are somewhat flawed design of certain Catian crew members, that could have been curvier and girly rather than somewhat boy like.

Overall, I do recommend it. It's fun and worth your time.


I will add comments on OVA after I finish it.

Saturday, 14 March 2026

School Rumble Ni Gakki Review

Overall Rating 5.7 out of 10 - Overall worse than predecessor, with only few good episodes.

I recommend watching few select episodes, like episode 20 and 25.


Me complaining that sequels fail to live to the original is nothing new, here again a second season of Sucuran is not as good as the original.

One difference however is that unlike many other shows that I condemned with the same conclusion, Sukuran did not abruptly got worse from second season on, so I cannot easily blame it on staff changes and such. It's of course possible that staff changed mid-season, but what are the chances. Sukuran was already declining in first season. Gradually it introduced more and more unlikable characters like Lala, Tougou, Imadori or Jirou, that gradually stole the show away from the core cast. 

Second season was not a sudden break with the trend; it just exacerbated what was bad in the first one. More screentime for characters I do not like, less for those I like. Even those characters I generally do like, get to play less appealing role. There is less of Tenma fawning over Karasuma and more of her being nasty to Harima (episode 15 something, not episode 25, she is nice to him there). That orange haired nurse that was so nice to Harima in first season, became lesbian with his relative in the second and no longer treats Harima nicely. Not an abrupt break, but some kind of planned gradual decay.

Despite that occasionally Sukuran gets back to its core roots and pulls a few good episodes here and there. However, by now they are clear minority. A drop of honey in a barrel of tar. Unlike the first season, second did not get a good final episode that would leave me at least hopeful for the future of the show. I might watch the brief second season sometime in future, but for now Sukuran is shelved.

I have to look back to remember every good episode that was worth watching, so I cannot list them now. Will come back to it sometime.

Overall, with exception of few good episodes, this season is a failure. Something killed yet another show that was initially promising. Or maybe it was never meant to be good in the first place, I was always bad, I just could not see it early on. 

Regardless it's no longer a show about Tenma doing silly but cute things driven by her unrequited love for Karasuma, this show no longer makes fun of women and instead mocks and abuses men. Poor treatment of men is not something I am willing to tolerate in my shows, only poor treatment of females.

Tuesday, 20 January 2026

Jibaku Shounen Hanako-kun 2 Part 1 Review

Overall Rating 6.3 out of 10 - Another sequel that does not live true to the original.

Still watchable enough to recommend

Me complaining about sequels not living to the original is nothing new. I said it about many other titles. I even dropped a sequel of a show that I gave one of the highest scores for its first season. In case of Jibaku Shounen Hanako-kun, its far less dramatic. It's worse than the original but still watchable overall.

If you want to know what was so good about the original or what this show is about, read my review of the first season. Here I will focus on what made second season worse than the first one.

The biggest problem is the relationship dynamic between two main characters, Hanako-kun and Yashiro. In the original Yashiro was cute naive damsel in distress that only thinks about love. I spend several paragraphs praising her in the original review. Second season went on and changed her role for the worse. 

In second season Yashiro is far more assertive and proactive. Not something I like in a woman. She spends the entire second half of the show trying to stop Hanako-kun. In the first she could even kill a fly.

Hanako also changed. In first season he was the knowledgeable guy who knew his way around world of ghosts and a lot more. Sure, he tricked Yashiro into accepting his deal but that just show how wonderfully naive and gullible Yashiro is or was. Hanako was shrewd and selfish, but not evil. He was not a villain. Now they actually stopping him.

Second season introduced a few more characters, most of them are unlikable. There is now whole two clones of Kou-kun (the exorcist guy) that I sometimes finding hard to tell apart. As something who would prefer the show to stay mostly between Hanako and Yashiro, I do not appreciate this enlargement of the company. Other characters are just distracting from romance between main couple. 

The same problem killed off Sora no Otoshimono for me. Ikaros is near perfect girl and if they focused on romance between her and Sakurai, it would have been perfect. Instead, they mixed in many jock characters and turned the whole thing into circus. Ikaros's demure demeanor, quietness and social ineptitude is what makes her cute, not something one should make fun of.

Yes, first season can be seen as a romance of sorts and with a likable female character at that. Second season rather kills it off. Yashiro's attention is not equally divided between Hanako and Kou, while in first season Kou was clearly a guy with no chances.

This show does not go as far as Sora no Otoshimono to make it a deal breaker but, the show would have been better if it went more serious and sober rather than more whimsical and wilder. That would have made a good backdrop for relationship between Hanako and Yashiro.

Overall, it's not too bad. Worse than the original but watchable, even if not loveable.